NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety

The NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work is suitable for anyone who needs to understand the principles of health and safety as part of their job, including team leaders and supervisors, HR professionals, facilities managers and those training young people in a working environment.

The NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work is accredited and credit rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA – for delivery across the UK. It is rated within the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF – at SCQF Level 5 with 3 SCQF credit points.

For users in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, this qualification is intended to be broadly comparable to a Vocationally-Related Qualification (VRQ) at Level 2 in the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), comparable to GCSE standard.

The Award in Workplace Health and Safety is divided into two units:

Unit HSW1: Workplace safety foundations which is a taught unit, assessed by a one hour multiple choice examination. There are 10 chapters in this unit:

  • The foundations of health and safety
  • The responsibility for health and safety
  • Health and safety risk assessment & control
  • Work equipment
  • Transport safety
  • Working with electricity
  • Fire Safety
  • Manual Handling & repetitive activity
  • Hazardous substances
  • Working Environment

Unit HSW2: Risk assessment activity: assessed by a risk assessment activity.

Course Duration: Full-time: 4 Days; Part-time: 3 weeks

Course Fee: Rs 25,000

For more details on the syllabus, please visit the NEBOSH Website: